

Circuit Council meeting and Annual General Meeting 7pm, 13th June 2022 Haxby & Wigginton Methodist Church

Welcome

This year's Circuit Annual General meeting will be held as part of the Circuit Council meeting on 13th June, 7pm at Haxby & Wigginton Methodist Church.

This meeting is open to anyone in the Circuit who would like to come and reflect with the Circuit Council on the past year and where we are as a Circuit.

Below you can find the list of appointments to be reported to the AGM, although there may be some changes over the next few weeks.

We hope you will be able to join us.



Photos from Flourish 2023 and some of the folk from around the Circuit who attended.

If you have any questions, please let us know in advance by email, in writing or by phone. Speak to Revd David Bidnell or contact the Circuit Office.

York Methodist Circuit Hub

Melbourne Terrace Methodist Church, Cemetery Road, York, YO10 5AF Tel No. 01904 499661 email: yorkcircuitoffice@gmail.com www.yorkmethodist.org.uk York Methodist Circuit Charity Number 1134381

Circuit Stewards' Report for AGM 2023

The Circuit Stewards team this year were pleased to welcome a new member, Ann Smallwood, who joins Ruth Morrison, Janet Bowling, Vic Paylor (property) and Nick Dawson (treasurer).

Our commitments have included serving on some Circuit committees-Manses, Safeguarding and the Lay Employment Management Group in addition to being members of the Circuit Leadership Team and attending, between us, all church councils. This has all helped us to be as informed as possible about what goes on around the Circuit. Meeting lots of different people through these roles is very important and is probably the most enjoyable aspect of being a Circuit Steward.

We have also been involved in a lot of decisions regarding property this year-both renting and selling of premises. This is an increasing part of our work, but we are very fortunate to have Angie Creswick and Lois Cross, who manage most of the day- to- day aspects of property issues so well.

The Circuit's financial situation is a major concern, as most people will be aware. We have set up a working group to look at this and to consult widely as to how best to address this over the next few years. We welcome all suggestions and views on what the most important things should be to support our members and continue our mission. We will be grateful for your prayers in this matter.

We are delighted that John Hayward, our probationer presbyter, is to be ordained shortly, after successfully completing his two years of assessment.

And we are delighted that Bill Topping has been accepted for Diaconal training, though we will be sad to lose him. He has been a great asset to the Circuit though his work, mainly in Poppleton and Lidgett, over the last two years.

John Bailey has been a very valued member of staff as Lay Pastor in the west part of the circuit and we will miss him when he retires this summer. We give him our good wishes for a happy retirement.

As ever, we thank you all for your support and prayers over the year and look forward to the next one.

Ruth and Janet

Draft Membership of the Circuit Council from September 2023

Circuit Ministers

Revd David Bidnell (Chair), Revd Elizabeth Cushion, Revd Rory Dalgliesh, Revd John Hayward, Revd Andy Lindley, Revd Dr John Schofield, Deacon Judith Stoddart

Circuit Stewards Ruth Morrison (senior), Janet Bowling, Nick Dawson (finance), Vic Paylor (property), Ann Smallwood

Circuit Council Secretary

Stephen Leah

Local Preachers' representatives

John Freeman

Church Representatives to Circuit Council (subject to change when Church Councils meet)

	()	0	,
Acaster Malbis:	Graham Langton	Heworth:	David Thompson
Acomb:	Janet Holdaway	Holgate:	ТВС
Bishopthorpe:	ТВС	Huntington:	Vacant
Central:	ТВС	Lidgett:	Rosamond Carter (TBC)
Clifton: C	hristopher Rouse (TBC)	Poppleton:	Sheila Middleton
Clifton Moor:	Emma Dearlove (TBC)	Rufforth:	Karen Valentine
Copmanthorpe:	Russ Smallwood (TBC)	Sheriff Hutton:	Eric Hayhurst
Easingwold:	Sue Gill	Southlands:	David Whittaker
Haxby & Wigginton:	Janet Bowling	Strensall:	June Taylor
Heslington:	Ruth Schofield	Villages Together:	Sally Gall
Hessay:	Kathryn Wright	West Thorpe:	Chris Jarratt

Reps to District Synod (from September 2023)

Ruth Morrison, Janet Bowling, Sue Gill, Nick Dawson, John Middleton, Lydia Harrison

Circuit Leadership Team

David Bidnell, Elizabeth Cushion, John Hayward, Victoria Etherington, Louisa Taylor, Janet Bowling, Nick Dawson, Ruth Morrison, Vic Paylor, Stephen Leah

Circuit Safeguarding Officer

John Hayward

Safeguarding Team

John Hayward, David Bidnell, Lois Cross, Victoria Etherington, Amy Shephard, June Taylor, Sally Gall, Ruth Morrison

Lay Employment Management Group

David Bidnell, Andy Lindley, Sally Gall, John Middleton, Nick Dawson, Janet Bowling, David Johnson

Manse Stewards

Vic Paylor, Sue Gill, Peter Harrison, Tim Short, John Middleton

Circuit Invitations Committee

David Bidnell, Elizabeth Cushion, Rory Dalgliesh, John Hayward, Andy Lindley, John Schofield, Judith Stoddart, Stephen Leah, Janet Bowling, Ruth Morrison, Vic Paylor, Ann Smallwood, Nick Dawson

Church name	Minister in Pastoral Charge/ Local Pastor with pastoral responsibility		
Acaster Malbis	TBC		
Acomb	Revd Andy Lindley/ Louisa Taylor		
Bishopthorpe	Revd John Schofield		
Central	Revd David Bidnell		
Clifton	Revd Elizabeth Cushion		
Clifton Moor	Local Ecumenical Project		
Copmanthorpe	Revd John Schofield		
Easingwold	Revd David Bidnell/ Alyson Christy		
Haxby & Wigginton	Revd Rory Dalgliesh/ Lorraine Jones		
Heslington	Revd John Schofield/ LEP		
Hessay	Revd Elizabeth Cushion		
Heworth	Revd David Bidnell/ Alyson Christy		
Holgate	Revd Rory Dalgliesh		
Huntington (with Thornton-le-Clay)	Revd John Hayward		
Lidgett	Revd Elizabeth Cushion		
Poppleton	Revd Elizabeth Cushion		
Rufforth	Revd Elizabeth Cushion		
Sheriff Hutton	Revd John Hayward		
Southlands	Revd Andy Lindley/ Louisa Taylor		
Strensall	Revd John Hayward		
Villages Together	Revd David Bidnell		
West Thorpe	Revd Andy Lindley		

Pastoral Charge 2023-24